Review: Breathe by Sarah Crossan 2

11544466Title: Breathe
Author: Sarah Crossan
Genre: YA Dystopia

The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can’t? And what if you think everything could be different? Three teens will leave everything they know behind in Sarah Crossan’s gripping and original dystopian teen novel of danger, longing, and glimmering hope that will appeal to fans of Patrick Ness and Veronica Roth.

Ever since the Switch, when the oxygen levels plummeted and most of humanity died, the survivors have been protected in glass domes full of manufactured air. Protected . . . or trapped? Or controlled? Alina’s a revolutionary who believes we can save the environment. Quinn’s a Premium who’s never had to worry about having enough air. His best friend, Bea, is an Auxiliary who’s never worried about anything but having enough air. When the three cross paths, they will change everything. Sarah Crossan’s thrilling and provocative novel is about passion, about yearning for something better, and about breaking free for the very first time.

Available at:
Amazon – Canada: HardcoverPaperbackKindle
Amazon – US: PaperbackKindle

Book Reviews By RatingMy Review:
Of all the dystopian novels I’ve read, Breathe was by far the closest to reality. Her world building was so believable it could actually happen in the future. Although it was almost the same as most dystopian books, – there was an apocalyptic happening that forced the survivors to build a society with a government that controls and limits the people – what happened in Breathe was definitely more plausible making it more exciting and terrifying at the same time.

Apart from the world she created, I also loved the characters. It was told in three different POVs and I usually find that annoying and difficult to follow, but not with Breathe. Crossan developed her characters so well that I didn’t even have to look at whose POV I was reading. As I read through the book, I got to know the characters very well and was able to distinguish the difference in the characters’ voices easy.

Bea was rational, hopeful, compassionate, and smart. Although when put in tough situations, she showed how fierce and determined she could be. She was my favorite character and I admire her for her genuine and kind heart. All she every wanted was to have a better life for her and her family, and her only chance was the leadership program.

Quinn was…well he was Quinn. There were times when I wanted to smack him in the head, but then it really was all just a part of his adorable personality. He was born privileged so he never had to work hard for anything. At first he seemed like the typical rich boy who are clueless about everything around him, but he started to mature throughout the book. I started liking him more and more when he realized how big of a lie his privileged life was and how much lies the government feed the people.

As for Alina, she was the badass of the bunch. She knew what was going on and was fighting against the government. She was fierce, gorgeous, strong-willed, and idealistic. She was committed to her cause and she won’t let anything stop her. Although, her experiences made her lose a bit of herself. She had a tendency to be cold, standoffish, and rude, but it was understandable.

Breathe was overall a fast paced, action-packed, breathtaking book that I recommend to all my readers. The first few pages will captivate you leaving you wanting for more. It was an outstanding first book and I’m definitely reading the next instalment.

 

Discussion Questions:

  1. How do you feel about my review? Do you agree or disagree with it? Would you read it, if you haven’t yet, basing from the review?
  2. What did you think of the book? How would you rate it from scale 1 to 5 (5 being the highest).
  3. How do you feel about the main characters? Did you like them, hate them, relate to them?
  4. Would you recommend it to others?
  5. What other books would you recommend that’s similar to this one?

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

2 thoughts on “Review: Breathe by Sarah Crossan

  1. Reply Pam@YA Escape from Reality Dec 16,2013 3:22 pm

    I loved this book too, but I read it almost a year ago and I really need to reread it before I read the sequel. But I do remember that I loved the characters and the world-building and that the plot was fast-paced. Great review!

Share your Thoughts

%d bloggers like this: