Book Review: Vindicate by Beth Yarnall 5

26437360

Vindicate

by Beth Yarnall

Goodreads

Amazon

B&N

iBooks

 

Beth Yarnall kicks off a steamy new series—perfect for fans of Kendra Elliot and Emma Chase—featuring a San Diego investigative team with a soft spot for lost causes and a passion for redemption.

Cora. . . . I got my driver’s license on my sixteenth birthday so I could visit my brother in prison. Five and a half years later, he’sstill locked up for a murder he didn’t commit and I’m still trying to find a way to set him free. Then I hear about Nash Security and Investigation, a private detective agency that helped exonerate a wrongfully convicted man after thirty-nine years in prison. The problem? They’ve already taken on the one pro-bono case they’ll accept this year.

Leo. . . . I’m this close to finishing law school—and never working another day at my dad’s P.I. office—when Cora Hollis walks through the door. She’s got a box of files, a handful of leads, and an independent streak a mile wide. She fascinates me and I can’t say no. Suddenly I’m volunteering to help her find a missing witness who could be the key to her brother’s case. But nothing is what it seems and giving in to the attraction between us could be more dangerous than finding the real murderer.

 

My Rating:

5 hearts

 

Favorite Quotes:

 

“I’ve already been through the metal detector, searched, and patted down so thoroughly I’m questioning my sexuality.”

 

“She’s like one of those warrior women, going into battle.  I imagine her with a shield and cape that flaps out behind her.”

 

“Someone else lives in the house I grew up in.  Some new family, pressing new memories into the walls and pushing my family’s out.”

 

“Let me get this straight.  You want to have committed non-commitment sex with me until the end of the summer.”

 

 

My Review:

 

Vindicate is enthralling, well-crafted, and mesmerizing.  Beth Yarnall has mad skills.  I was pulled into this riveting tale on page one, and due to her skilled writing style, I did not want to put my kindle down.  The story was well-crafted from a dual POV and loaded with emotive descriptions, cleverly stated personal insights, humor, intrigue, and occasional teasing hits of steam.  It was perfection.  I am thrilled with the knowledge I already have the second book in this series –Atone – loaded on my kindle, as I don’t want to leave these fascinating characters.

Empress DJ signature

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Best selling author, Beth Yarnall writes romantic suspense, mysteries and the occasional hilarious tweet. For a number of years, Beth made her living as a hairstylist and makeup artist and co-owned a salon. Somehow hairstylists and salons always seem to find their way into her stories. Beth lives in Southern California with her husband, two sons, and their dog where she is hard at work on her next novel. www.bethyarnall.com

Goodreads author page

Beth blogs at The Keeper Shelf- http://www.thekeepershelf.net/

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Vindicate by Beth Yarnall

  1. Reply alishadwebster Jan 3,2016 6:39 am

    Ah! This looks good! I laughed at your first quote.

  2. Reply valerie shyne Jan 4,2016 2:07 am

    I always love your reviews. And and wonder where you find your authors as most of them I haven’t read before.

  3. Reply Curly Carla Jan 4,2016 10:30 am

    I putting this on my wish list!

Share your Thoughts