Book Review: The Little Village Bakery by Tilly Tennant 1

little-village-bakery

The Little Village Bakery

by Tilly Tennant

Goodreads

Amazon

B&N

Help yourself to a generous slice of Victoria sponge, a perfect cup of tea and a big dollop of romance. Welcome to the Little Village Bakery.

Meet Millie. Heartbreak has forced her to make a new start and when she arrives at the old bakery in the little village of Honeybourne she is determined that this will be her home sweet home. Her imagination has been captured by the tumbledown bakery but with no running water and dust everywhere, her cosy idea of making cakes in a rural idyll quickly crumbles.

Luckily the locals are a friendly bunch and step in to help Millie. One in particular, Dylan, a laid-back lothario, soon captures her attention.

But just as Millie is beginning to settle in, an unexpected visitor from her past suddenly turns up determined to ruin everything for her. It’s time for Millie to face the skeletons in her closet if she’s going to live the dream of running her little village bakery, and her blossoming romance with Dylan.

A charming heartwarming novel about love, life and new beginnings perfect for fans of Milly Johnson and Debbie Johnson.

 

My Rating:

4 hearts

 

Favorite Quotes:

 

Despite how frustrating he could be, there was something infection about Dylan’s personality. Infuriatingly, he was cool; there was no other word for him.   Everything he did, everything he said, was effortlessly charming and impressive.

 

Oh, it’s still got about fifteen years’ worth of dust in every room, the ovens are coated in enough grease and grime to waterproof a Viking long ship and I’ve had to get an eviction order for the larger spiders… but I think it’s ok.

 

If only I were a few years younger… I’d love to get a good rogering from that one. I hear he’s quite energetic.

 

Yes, we’re an item… No, she doesn’t need a guide dog and she is quite sane, thank you. Any more jokes you want to trot out about my suitability as a boyfriend…

 

Ruth appeared, teleported to the scene of new gossip like a magnet drawn to an iron girder.

 

My Review:

 

The Little Village Bakery was an entertaining and relevant read yet a bit heavier than I was expecting. The story is a mixed genre – best described as humorous women’s fiction… part British charm, part angst, part intrigue and secrets, part romance – while liberally sprinkled with fun banter and amusing humor. This odd little English village feels very small town with tongues wagging and reputations turning on a dime. Everyone tries to avoid the elderly gossip that seems a bit obsessed with talking of “rumpy-pumpy,” yet she is always there in the thick of things. Wanting a fresh start in life, a new resident arrives after purchasing an ancient bakery sight unseen. She is more than dismayed to realize its state of decay and need for more renovation than she planned. Imagine her surprise when the village of strangers springs to her aid, although a storm that seems to have followed her. The story was laced with heart squeezes, interesting characters, and fun bits of Brit vernacular to add to my list.

Empress DJ signature

 

7204286

Tilly Tennant was born in Dorset, the oldest of four children, but now lives in Staffordshire with a family of her own. After years of dismal and disastrous jobs, including paper plate stacking, shop girl, newspaper promotions and waitressing (she never could carry a bowl of soup without spilling a bit), she decided to indulge her passion for the written word by embarking on a degree in English and creative writing, graduating in 2009 with first class honours. She wrote her first novel in 2007 during her first summer break at university and has not stopped writing since. She also works as a freelance fiction editor, and considers herself very lucky that this enables her to read many wonderful books before the rest of the world gets them.

Tilly is represented by the wonderful, gorgeous Peta Nightingale at LAW.

Website

Goodreads

Amazon

One comment on “Book Review: The Little Village Bakery by Tilly Tennant

  1. Reply Alisha Webster Sep 10,2016 8:58 am

    I need to read that one I think you recommended last time, this one looks super cute too.

Share your Thoughts