Book Review: Someone Else’s Love Letter by Deborah Blumenthal 2

Someone Else's Love Letter

Someone Else’s Love Letter

by Deborah Blumenthal

Goodreads

Amazon

B&N

 

Fixing your wardrobe is a dream job. Fixing your life is a work of art.

Sage Parker has the perfect occupation for a Manhattanite―she helps the rich and powerful keep their wardrobes current and suitable for every need. Her sense of fashion is impeccable, her connections are unsurpassed, and her eye misses not a single well-made stitch.

So when she discovers a love note left in the back of a cab, Sage admires the card stock and the ink, but also the heartfelt words. She sets out on a mission to find out who the love note was intended for―and who wrote it.

What Sage discovers will broaden her horizons and change her life, introducing her to an extraordinary woman who is revamping her entire world midway through life, a dashing Brit with a hive of secrets, and a free-spirited painter, whose brush captures the light in everything he paints, including Sage.

Fans of Isabel Wolff and Kathleen Tessaro will be hopelessly enchanted with Sage Parker and this mesmerizing, heartfelt novel of bold fashion and bolder choices.

 

My Rating:

4 hearts

 

Favorite Quotes:

 

“When important things happen, your mind has a way of fixing the moments into your memory.  You recall exactly where you were and why, who you were with, the time day, even the light.”

 

“I live in the shadow of our relationship, pretending you’re still with me.  Even without you, the memories of our life together mean more than the reality of being with someone else.”

 

“I answered in my most seductive phone voice.  Phony as it was, I had several telephone voices, as do most people, even if they won’t admit it.”

 

“Men were like dresses; the perfect ones popped up at unexpected moments, which is why I told my clients carpe diem – or seize the perfect dress, in fashion speak, whenever and wherever you saw it.”

 

“It was one of those nights when your mind frees you from obsessing about the things you don’t like about yourself and you feel good-looking.”

 

“There was a girl about my age who had short, spiky, hot pink hair who stood with a group of pale, sensitive, macrobiotic types who looked like they needed blood.”

 

“When you felt your most vulnerable, as if only a very fine membrane was protecting your sanity, the least bit of human decency could unhinge you.”

 

My Review:

 

I was in considerable need of lighter fare after a steady diet of heavier emotional reads of late, so finding this little treasure was timely.  Sage is a romantic with a fanciful imagination.  Her daydreams and hopes have always been far more pleasant than her reality.  Being that she was clotheshorse and a designer fashion maven, I had worried that Sage would be shallow, as fashionistas do tend to be more superficial in nature.  While she did tend to make judgments about people by their clothes and presentation, Sage also had a surprising depth to her, clever insights, a good heart, and a strong streak of altruism.  The “connection between clothes and the psyche” was readily apparent to her and her special gift of assisting others in presenting themselves in the best possible light changed their lives as well as improved their personal outlooks and self-esteem.  I enjoyed the story, plot, and quirky characters, but I adored the character of Sage – with her smart humor, thoughtfulness, tender heart, and keen observations of human nature.

Empress DJ signature

163598

About the Author

Deborah Blumenthal is an award-winning journalist and nutritionist who now divides her time between writing children’s books and adult novels. She has been a regular contributor to The New York Times (including four years as the Sunday New York Times Magazine beauty columnist), and a home design columnist for Long Island Newsday. Her health, fitness, beauty, travel, and feature stories have appeared widely in many other newspapers and national magazines including New York’s Daily News, The Washington Post, The Los Angeles Times, Bazaar, Cosmopolitan, Woman’s Day, Family Circle, Self, and Vogue.

Website

Amazon Author Page

 Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Someone Else’s Love Letter by Deborah Blumenthal

  1. Reply shyunique Mar 2,2016 7:12 am

    Cassie Mae’s Doing It For Love was the same thing for me. I read so many heavy books last week I feel kinda exhausted. Light reads every now and then are awesome.

  2. Reply Curly Carla Mar 2,2016 8:42 am

    This one looks like a fun read.

Share your Thoughts

%d bloggers like this: