Book Review, Giveaway: Tell Me That You’re Mine by Victoria De La O 7

 

Title: Tell Me That You’re Mine

Author: Victoria De La O

Publisher: SMP Swerve

Release Date: August 29, 2017

Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance

Series: Tell Me #3

Format: Digital

ISBN: 9781250122100

Goodreads

 Amazon  B&N | Kobo | iTunes | Google Play

In TELL ME THAT YOU’RE MINE Ryan McCallister and Eva Romero are two people trying to find a once-in-a-lifetime second chance at love. Fans of Tamarra Webber and Erin McCarthy will adore this emotional and heartfelt conclusion to Victoria De La O’s RITA-nominated family drama.

 

 

 

Synopsis:

Ryan McCallister is ready to come home and put the heartbreak of his first love behind him. But when he returns after teaching abroad, the home he once knew isn’t quite ready for him. The woman Ryan once loved is living with his brother; his friends have moved on; and his new landlady, Eva Romero, seems determined not to like him.

But Ryan likes Eva. A lot.

It doesn’t matter that Eva has a six-year-old son and a troubled ex-husband; when Ryan’s with her, everything makes sense. Eva isn’t convinced she’s ready to take another chance on love, but Ryan’s determined to show her he’s worth the risk.

 

 

 

My Rating:

 

Favorite Quotes:

 

Jude goes full cartoon villain when he gets upset—clenched jaw, steely eyes, the whole bit.

 

For having three sisters, Brett is awfully scared of women. Or maybe it’s because of his sisters. It couldn’t have helped that he looked like a spotted scarecrow in high school, his acne visible even from afar.

 

The strangest memory pops into my mind of Mom re-buttoning my shirts because she always missed a hole. It takes my breath away for a second. Grief often hits me at weird times in random moments—more so now than when I was young. Maybe because as I get older I understand the enormity of what I lost. When a parent dies, you keep losing them over and over throughout your life.

 

Our father became a mythical figure, his name never spoken but the idea of him always menacing—like Voldemort or the boogeyman.

 

 

My Review:

 

Although I did not read the first book in this series and didn’t need to, I’d like to go back and see the origins of this story. However, this book had strong legs and was quite capable of standing alone.   The storyline was current, relevant, realistic, relatable, and written from my favorite dual POV. The angst was well balanced by welcome hits of humor and snappy banter. I adored the sweet and tender character of Ryan, he squeezed my heart and I was devastated for him each time his ego took a hit. Ms. De La O has an insightful and observant writing style that is easy to follow yet also emotive and engaging. I hope to soon be reading her work again.

 

 

Available at: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Kobo | iTunes | Google Play

Excerpt:

It feels like an eternity since I’ve been home. In reality, it’s only been a year.

My slow walk to the house is surreal. The lawn is as pristine as ever, each blade of grass shorn the same height by Jude’s meticulous mowing. The red geraniums I planted years ago are thriving. And the dent in the porch rail, caused by my foot accidentally connecting with the wood, is still visible. But I don’t remember the house being this uninspiring shade of blue, or the crack on the front stoop being this wide. This house, this city, used to be my whole world. It seemed a lot bigger then.

Discordance skitters over my spine: what should be familiar is foreign, relief mingles with anxiety. Time snaps and contracts as I knock on the front door, and suddenly it seems like an hour since I left. A nanosecond.

The door swings open, and the reason for my hasty departure is staring at me. She’s as pretty as I remember—maybe more, damn her. Green eyes that used to flutter when I kissed her, full lips that whispered confidences in my ear.

Now, her face is frozen in a hostess’ smile. Her fingers worry the bottom button of her pink cardigan and the threads begin to loosen. She doesn’t know what to do because she wasn’t expecting me. I guess it wasn’t nice showing up a day early.

Ryan. You’re home.”

Home. Does she mean mine or hers?

I had almost forgotten what Lizzie’s voice sounded like, but its husky depth brings the memories of the six months we spent loving each other rushing back.

Well, I had been loving her. She’d been falling in love with my brother.

I wait for my heart to ache, but there’s only a small twinge. That’s a surprise. In my mind, this was all so much more dramatic and intense. Hard stares and pinched lips. A little social awkwardness seems so mundane by comparison.

And then the door swings open wider and Jude is there. My pulse stops—doesn’t slow, just ceases to exist for a second. Leave it to him to bring the fireworks.

Like the house, Jude seems smaller than I remember. Or maybe that’s because he has gone expressionless, his discomfort hard-crashing him. His hands dig into his pockets, searching for an anchor, pulling his shoulders into a hunch. It takes a lot to knock Jude off his game. Glad to see I can still have that effect on him.

When he opens his mouth, no sound comes out. It’s unusual for me to have to step up and be the better man when I’m around my big brother. But today is that day.

Copyright © 2017 Tell Me That You’re Mine by Victoria De La O

 

 

 

Rafflecopter for Tell Me That You’re Mine Blitz Giveaway:

Victoria De La O is offering one (1) lucky Grand-Prize winner a $25 Amazon Gift Card and three (3) Runner-Up winners an eCopy of Tell Me How This Ends, book #1 in Victoria’s Tell Me series! To enter, simply fill out the Rafflecopter below:

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Victoria De La O:

Victoria De La O is the award-winning and RITA®-nominated author of the Tell Me romance trilogy, including Tell Me How This Ends. A native of California’s Silicon Valley, she spends time hanging out with her family, arguing about films, and practicing Wonder Woman spins, She loves talking to readers, so find her at www.victoriadelao.com.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Amazon | BookBub

 

 

7 thoughts on “Book Review, Giveaway: Tell Me That You’re Mine by Victoria De La O

  1. Reply theabominablebookgirl Sep 2,2017 1:34 pm

    I have been seeing this around. The more I see it, the more I want to read it.

  2. Reply Katie @ Book Ink Reviews Sep 2,2017 3:32 pm

    Holy.. those quotes are precious!

  3. Reply boundtowriting Sep 2,2017 4:36 pm

    I love those quotes! What a cute book!

  4. Reply Gayathri Lakshminarayanan Sep 4,2017 9:24 am

    A standalone from a series is what I love. I have no patience to wait for the next book to be released to know what happens to the characters.

    Gayathri @ Musings Over Nothing

Share your Thoughts

%d bloggers like this: