Book Review, Giveaway: OFF THE HOOK – Fishing for Trouble #1 by Laura Drewry 6

Enter to Win a $25.00 eGift Card to Choice Book Seller

 

OFF THE HOOK
Fishing for Trouble #1
Laura Drewry
Releasing April 12, 2016
Loveswept

 

 

Blurb

Welcome to The Buoys, a West Coast haven where love comes in with the tide. Perfect for readers of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery, the Fishing for Trouble series features three unforgettable brothers—each of whom is a great catch.

Major league pitcher Liam O’Donnell knows his best days are probably behind him, but that doesn’t mean he’s ready to retire and become a fishing guide. Still, after all the time he’s spent chasing his dreams, he owes it to his brothers to pull his weight around the lodge. The Buoys is their father’s legacy, and they can’t let some developer take it from them. The one snag Liam isn’t counting on is a blast from the past: his ex-wife.

The moment Kate Hadley steps out of the seaplane, she knows this assignment is going to be trickier than she thought. She has to persuade the owners to sell—and one of them is Liam O’Donnell. Ten years ago, she made the biggest mistake of her life when she married Liam during a fling in Vegas. Now he’s her only lifeline in the middle of nowhere. Kate’s trying to keep things cool, but Liam just reminds her of the scorching few nights they spent together—and tempts her to make new memories that are just as steamy as the old.

BUY NOW
Amazon | B&N | Google | iTunes | Kobo
.
OFF THE HOOK_5
OFF THE HOOK_2
Review-Banner

My Rating:

5 hearts

 

Favorite Quotes:

 

“She was gorgeous and funny and he’d been instantly smitten.  Wasn’t a word he’d ever use outside his own head, but there really was no other way to accurately describe her effect on him.  Smitten.”

 

“If Liam hadn’t known better, he’d have sworn she’d never seen the ocean before.  Everything about it seemed to amaze her, from the way the sun danced across the water with diamond tap shoes to the way gulls bobbed up and down over the swells without a care in the world.”

 

 

My Review:

 

This author paints pictures with gorgeous words and metaphors.  It astounded me – there were several passages where I needed to stop, reread, and savor – as they were just lovely.  This is my first time reading Laura Drewry but I greedily plan on hitting her listings and increasing my bulging TBR.  Off The Hook was well written, well paced, relevant, emotive, and engrossing.  I adored these characters and fretted for them, cheered them on, and smiled and sighed with their pleasure.  I would love to make a return visit to this cove, please Ms. Drewry, there are more brothers – just saying…

Empress DJ signature

OFF THE HOOK_3
OFF THE HOOK_7
OFF THE HOOK_8
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

USA Today Bestsellingauthor, Laura Drewry had been scribbling things for yearsbefore she decided to seriously sit down and write. After pending eight years in the Canadian north, Laura now lives back home in southwestern British Columbia with her husband, three sons, a turtle named Sheldon, and an extremely energetic German shepherd. She loves old tattered books, good movies, country music, and the New York Yankees.
 
 

 

6 thoughts on “Book Review, Giveaway: OFF THE HOOK – Fishing for Trouble #1 by Laura Drewry

  1. Reply Laura Drewry Apr 19,2016 5:14 am

    Thank you so much for being part of the OFF THE HOOK tour this week and for the great review – your kind and sweet words are much appreciated! 🙂

    Cheers!

    Laura

  2. Reply Curly Carla Apr 19,2016 6:57 am

    Those quotes make me want to read it!

  3. Reply redreviewsit Apr 19,2016 7:18 am

    Lovely review! Thank you for hosting OFF THE HOOK today!

    Crystal, Tasty Book Tours

  4. Reply anitaloves2read Apr 19,2016 12:46 pm

    This sounds good. I like visual books where the words are like pieces of art! 🙂

Share your Thoughts

%d bloggers like this: