Book Review, Giveaway: Dark and Stormy Knight by Nina Mason

Title: Dark and Stormy Knight

Author: Nina Mason
Series: The Knights of Avalon, #2
Genres: PNR/UF/Erotica
Release Date: 1/05/16
Publisher: Lyrical Press

Online Retailers:

Amazon, B&N, Kobo & Google Play

She’ll risk everything for their love—even her life.


Aspiring screenwriter Gwyn Morland is ready for her big break. That means securing the film rights to elusive author Lady Ruthven’s acclaimed novel—which means traveling to Scotland. It’s a trip timid Gwyn isn’t prepared for, and her fears seem justified when her tour bus careens over a cliff outside of Castle Glenarvon. But the plot thickens when Gwyn is rescued from the brink of death by a handsome and mysterious stranger…

Leith MacQuill is not only the writer behind Lady Ruthven’s novel, but a shape-shifting faery knight bearing a tragic curse: the woman he gives his heart to will die. Saving Gwyn proves to be a dangerous choice when he finds himself falling for her the longer she stays in the castle. Not even his usual BDSM role-playing games are enough to thwart the intense desire they feel for each other. But to stay together, Gwyn and Leith must embark on a dangerous mission into Avalon, the realm of the faeries. Will their love be strong enough to conquer the curse? Or will Gwyn’s new life be stolen from her before it’s even begun?

Here’s a little bit about The Knights of Avalon series in Nina’s own words:

 The Knights of Avalon, the four-part erotic PNR/UF series, was born of a simple idea: to write a series incorporating different forms of divination. From that kernel grew the far more complex world of the series. The “knights” of Avalon, the enchanted otherworld isle featured in Arthurian and Celtic legend, were Scottish noblemen who, after falling in battle, were taken by the fairies to serve as breeding drones to their queen. Each of the four books in the series tells the story of a particular knight and the heroine whose love saves him from his unhappy existence.Each knight in the series grapples with a different relationship with Morgan Le Fay, the cruel and selfish queen of Avalon. Callum Lyon, the hero of STARRY KNIGHT (book one), is free of Morgan’s influence, having escaped enslavement by faking his own death. Leith MacQuill, the hero of DARK AND STORMY KNIGHT (book two), was expelled from Avalon after the queen discovered his affair with one of her scouts. In book three, KNIGHT OF ENCHANTMENT, Axel Lochlann, a Scottish runemaster of Viking descent, guards the portal between Hitherworld (our realm) and Thitherworld (the otherworldly realm). The fourth knight, Finn MacKnight, doesn’t know what he is or that he’s destined to fulfill an ancient prophecy telling of the queen’s overthrow by a “natural-born” drone. Because of this prophecy, Morgan kills all the male children she bears and punishes the knights who father them

Avalonian knights are vampire-like, but not vampires per se. Members of the Unseelie Fae, they drink blood and can assume the form of any creature they choose, but generally take the form of a particular animal to hunt. Callum’s preferred form is a lion, Leith’s is a Kellas Cat (a cross between a wild cat and a domestic cat found only in Scotland), Axel’s is a gyrfalcon, and Finn’s will be a jaguar.


My Rating:

4.5 hearts


Favorite Quotes:


“He much preferred human prey.  The blood was sweeter and less gamey, but, in a hamlet like Nairn, rumors spread as swiftly as pox in a brothel.”


“Perhaps Miss Brown hadn’t yet figured out that a man with a hard-on was about as trustworthy as a used car salesman.”


“The stall smelled of whiskey, nicotine, road grime, and farts, with an undertone of sweaty bollocks.”


My Review:


Nina Mason continues to dazzle me with her highly imaginative and creative hybrid genre blending paranormal/erotic/historical/romance.  While I tend to avoid anything historical and am rather selective in the paranormal I read, I will gladly put my personal preferences aside and read anything penned by the talented Ms. Mason.  In her 2nd installment of the Knights of Avalon series, Dark and Stormy Knight, she has penned yet another steamy book of elegant smut with hits of humor, while teaching us about the Hitherworld and Thitherworld and that fairy tales and mythology are based on truth – which is at once an exciting and scary thought.  Ms. Mason’s lush and richly descriptive style paints vivid pictures as well as maintains an active movie reel in my head – while reading and long after I have put my kindle down.  I always learn several new words when perusing her books and I walked away from this one remembering with a naughty smile that a condom was referred to as a French Letter, I feel ever so much more clever knowing that.

Empress DJ signature

About the author

 Nina Mason is a hopeful romantic with strong affinities for history, mythology, and the metaphysical. She strives to write the same kind of books she loves to read: those that entertain, edify, educate, and enlighten. When not writing, Nina works as a communications consultant, doll maker, and home stager. Born and raised in Southern California, she now lives in Woodstock, Georgia, with her husband, teenage daughter, two rescue cats, and a Westie named Robert.In addition to Dark and Stormy Knight, she is the author of the following books: Starry Knight (Knights of Avalon #1), Devil in Duke’s Clothing (Royal Pains #1), The Duke’s Bedeviled Bride (Royal Pains #2), The Devil’s Masquerade (Royal Pains #3), The Queen of Swords, and The Tin Man.


 Join Nina’s mailing list and be the first to hear about specials and releases:


Here are some of the places you can find Nina Mason online:
Author Website:
Amazon Author’s Page:

Kensington Author’s Page:****

Enter for a chance to win an e-copy of Dark and Stormy Knight!


a Rafflecopter giveaway
Check out Starry Knight, Knights of Avalon #1

Share your Thoughts