Book Review and Giveaway: Her Sister’s Shoes by Ashley Farley 3

Her Sister's Shoes coverHer Sister’s Shoes

by Ashley Farley

• Print Length: 380 pages
• Publisher: Leisure Time Books (June 24, 2015)

Proves the healing power of family . . .

Set in the South Carolina Lowcountry and packed with Southern charm and memorable characters, Her Sister’s Shoes is the story of three sisters—Samantha, Jackie, and Faith—who struggle to balance the demands of career and family while remaining true to themselves.

Samantha Sweeney has always been the glue that holds her family together, their go-to girl for love and support. When an ATV accident leaves her teenage son in a wheelchair, she loses her carefully constructed self-control.

In the after-gloom of her dreaded fiftieth birthday and the discovery of her husband’s infidelity, Jackie realizes she must reconnect with her former self to find the happiness she needs to move forward.

Faith lacks the courage to stand up to her abusive husband. She turns to her sisters for help, placing all their lives at risk.

In the midst of their individual challenges, the Sweeney sisters must cope with their mother’s mental decline. Is Lovie in the early stages of Alzheimer’s, or is her odd behavior normal for a woman her age? No one, including Lovie, understands her obsession with a rusty key she wears around her neck.

For fans of Dot Frank and Mary Alice Monroe, Her Sister’s Shoes is a contemporary women’s novel that explores and proves the healing power of family.

 

Add to Goodreads badge

Purchase Links

Amazon | Barnes & Noble

My Rating:

4 hearts

 

Favorite Quotes:

 

“She looks like a starving homeless woman digging through a dumpster for a leftover donut.”

 

“He was a great big man, large in size and spirit.”

 

“The image of her mother chasing after Curtis with a frying pan brought a smile to her face, even though she knew Lovie was crazy enough to try it.”

 

My Review:

Her Sister’s Shoes was a delightful surprise to me, it was more serious and drama filled than I had expected, but I adored every turn and moody twist to the story.  Written from three different POVs of challenged and vastly different sisters, the narrative was easy to follow and far more interesting and entertaining than a first person perspective ever could have been.  I enjoyed living in each of their heads in turn, and although I initially had a difficult time appreciating the eldest sister as she was a petty, angry, shallow, vile, snide, and selfish harpy (come now – we all have at least one in our families) – I found I also savored being in her head as well and reveled in her brief glints of insight that seemed to prick her conscience and cause her discomfort.  The plot was interesting and involving, and the writing had a good flow with likable characters and realistic issues.  Ms. Farley is one to watch.

Empress DJ signature

Ashley FarleyAbout Ashley Farley

Ashley Farley is a book blogger at Chronicles and author of Saving Ben and Her Sister’s Shoes. She is a community volunteer in Richmond, Virginia, where she lives with her husband and two college-aged children.

Visit her website at www.ashleyfarley.net, connect with her on Facebook and Twitter, and friend her on Goodreads.

 

Giveaway:

Comment below with your thoughts for a chance to win a copy of Her Sister’s Shoes

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review and Giveaway: Her Sister’s Shoes by Ashley Farley

  1. Reply kimbacaffeinate Aug 10,2015 9:33 am

    It was fun getting inside each of their heads. Love the quotes.

  2. Reply trish Aug 11,2015 1:29 am

    I love the idea of having three sisters each taking their turn at narrating. It’s especially interesting to get inside the heads of characters you don’t particularly like!

    Thanks for being on the tour!

  3. Reply Marilyn Aug 16,2015 7:48 pm

    What agreat idea for a good read. Thanks for the giveaway.
    Marilyn

Share your Thoughts

%d bloggers like this: